Pee Wee’s Playhouse

21Sep07

I was trying to find the ending theme song from Pee Wee’s Playhouse on the internet after, for some reason, recalling it today.  As a kid, I used to love watching the show on Saturday mornings, bouncing on the couch to the theme song.  I searched and searched for it, but couldn’t find it online unfortunately.  Instead, I found a lovely, very detailed Wikipedia entry on the show, and also an official website!

Wikipedia says that,

“The show was notorious for its campy undertones and double entendre…  As soon as it first aired, Pee-wee’s Playhouse fascinated media theorists and commentators, many of whom championed the show as a postmodernist hodgepodge of homosexual characters and situations which appeared to soar in the face of domineering racist, sexist, and heterosexist presumptions.  For example, three of Pee-wee’s closest human friends, Cowboy Curtis, Reba the Mail Lady, and the King of Cartoons, were black.”

I never thought about these things as a kid.  I mean– Postmodern cartoons?  The prevalence of black characters among Pee Wee’s friends?  The homosexual undertone?  Maybe they seeped into my unconsciousness though.  I just loved it for the off-the-wall creativity.

The DVDs of the shows episodes have been released.  I’d love to get them.  Maybe on Netflix, or a kind soul will give them to me for Christmas.

No Responses Yet to “Pee Wee’s Playhouse”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

